Interviu – Yasin Aziz bėgimo istorija

gruodžio 18, 2012 § 4 Komentaras


Svarsčiau parašyti po maratono, bet kam gi atidėlioti. Pakalbinau Yasin, maratonininką, bėgimo entuziastą ir tiesiog atvirą ir pozityvų žmogų. Labai džiaugiuos, kad galiu pasidalinti jo istorija (aleiskit už nelietuvybę, http://translate.google.lt/?hl=en&tab=wT#en/lt/).

Iš Yasin’o greit sulaukiau atsakymo. Svarsčiau, ar jis mane prisimins. Pasirodo turėjau nuotrauką su iškovotu medaliu ir juo fone, sedinčiu ant suoliuko ir žiūrinčiu į kamerą. Geras sutapimas. Mama mažą mane mokė nebendrauti su nepažįstamais. Gal dėl to man visada jie buvo įdomūs. Jei gatvėje prieina žmogus, tai arba nori informacijos arba parduoti daiktą, idėją, arba jam ne visi namie, nes gi “normalūs“ žmonės nekalbina nepažįstamų. Oj, panašių saugiklių daug. Prieš ekskursiją su klase gaudavau patarimų autobuse skaičiuoti pirmas penkias eiles nuo priekio, penkias nuo galo ir sėsti vairuotojo pusėje – statistiškai avarijos metu sužalojimų mažiausiai kliūna sėdintiems ten. Nesusimąstydama sėsdavausi saugiose kėdėse. Kol nesuprantau, kad saugikliai turi daugiau padėčių nei ‘ON’. O tada, žiūrėk, jau sėdi priekinėj sėdynėj, turi puikų vaizdą pro langą, nors kartu ir galimybe pro jį išskristi. Et, bet ką čia aš metaforom. Imkit žmogų ir mėgaukitės jo nuoširdumu.

Yasin

S: How did you decided to run Vilnius marathon in 2011, where did you hear about it and why Vilnius?

Y: I went online to check and to find a Marathon to run, as I couldn’t get into London or Paris Marathons in 2011, I found Lithuania Vilnius Marathon and I clicked on it to find out how to apply and I got information, as a sort of new country Lithuania after your country was liberated from the Soviet Empire, I was interested to come to see your country and Run Vilnius Marathon. It was a nice experience, in Vilnius was European Basket Ball Championship, and the city was busy too.

S: What is your running background and how did you start running?

Y: It was one day when I was with my ex partner, the mother of my 2 boys, we were in East London visiting a friend, the day there was Marathon day, ‘it is usually in April’, we were watching runners I just said, ‘I will be running London Marathon next year’ I said that without having any experience in any sport or in Running. I started running from 7th May 1990 at the time I was not working for a while, so I had time, I knew I had no health problem and asked my doctor if I can run, he said, ‘why not, that is fine and very good for you’ I started running like mad, without knowing anything about it, in 2 weeks I reached over an hour each time when I was going out, I used to run 2 or 3 times a week, each time I had pain in my legs, under my feet and exhausted as my body was not used to running, but I carried on, later when I found out, I should have known how to start, should have read about it, to start slowly and gradually build up for it, as I read a few books later.I applied to run London Marathon 1991 with a 3 more friends I persuaded them to run and we raised money for charity, for ‘ Kurdish Disaster Fund’ as I am a Kurd from North Iraq and we had problem with Saddam’s regime and Saddam attacked our people in 1991 and our problem high on the agenda on World Media as thousands were killed in Saddams Fascist attack, so we needed to raise money to help those civilians under bombardment. London Marathon knew about the situation so we entered into London Marathon that year. (Here in the Western countries Marathon runners raise sponsor money for many charities as a humanitarian action to help people in need, they call it sponsor money) we raised about £3000 pound and we were happy to be able to help families and children in Kurdistan, in North Iraq.I was working with many people so I could ask people to sponsor me, ‘it means to give some money for charity’ and people are up to them if they pay or not. Many did pay and I have raised many times for charity organisations, like ‘Lukeamea Reserch’ to pay for people with cancer or to find treatment for cancer, mental disease, and terminally ill children. As every year in the world marathons many millions are raised to help other people in need. That is so great to be able to help people in need through taking part in sports events like Marathon running.

S: What are you future plans?

Y: As I have been running for nearly 23 years, running is part of my life, I can never give it up, running is my life. As we get older, we need to do sport more, as our body needs it to keep fit, I cannot give up running I hope I can run until the last breath of my life. Nowadays, I run more than ever before, and I enjoy it, even in freezing weather. I have run 11 marathons: 8 times London, 2 times Tokyo 2008 2010 and Lithuania Vilnius 2011 and I have applied to do Stockholm Marathon on 1st June 2013 I hope I can do it if I don’t get any injury until I do that. If I run any Marathon or not, I still run for fitness, as any runner or sports person would know, what a nice feeling when finishes over 6 miles, 10k running. I have run 14 times Half Marathon, many times with British army personnel in Surrey & Hampshire area outside London. So far 11 Marathons + 14 half Marathons I have run 25 Marathons and love to do as many more as possible, but I have to be fit and I know through experience if I am fit or not, no one wants to die, we do Marathons for our well being and I love to make many more take part in running or doing some sport at least, but running for me is different and I love it. If I have any pain or feeling tired I know I should take rest and do not put pressure on myself, just take time feel I need to go out.

S: What do you find most difficult and most rewarding things about running?

Y: Running makes one’s body much more resistant to any illness or cold or any disease, makes me hopeful with life, enjoy life better than other people who don’t do sport. When one become a confident runner, can withstand difficulties of life, builds body stamina it means builds psychological strength to withstand any problems we face. It is good for all organs of the body, I have written a book in Kurdish about ‘Health & Fitness in Running Marathons’ I may translate it into English, but there are many books about sport and Marathons in the West. I live healthy, eat healthy food, no fat, no red meat, no animal fat, much more fruits and vegetable, my diet almost like champions, boiled vege, no salt in my salad, and little salt in my food, I love cooking, as I know what to eat, as I have been reading many books about health, fitness and diets, ‘types of food’.

S: What motivates you to run long distances?

Y: Running Marathons is about Long distance, one can not run short distance and hope to complete a Marathon, I run to build distance equal to the distance of 42.195 km, with a program in about 6 months until I am confident to run and complete the marathon I would be running. It would be through a program, most world marathons will give you guidance how to do that program, and how to eat and live with that program. After about 10k human body discharge an enzyme called endorphin that human brain discharges it, it makes one feel so great and happy, it is like a natural drug with many benefits to overcome stress and anxiety and mental illness. Doctors advice is running to overcome any psychological problems, my first days running I started when I was homesick, couldn’t contact my family back home, couldn’t see my family for over 10 years in North Iraq / Kurdistan when we had problems of war and revolution, so running was a dose of getting over my problems and find a way towards happiness. I feel as if I can walk to any distance without feeling tiredness, often running too much makes one feel tired, so a rest required for the body, if one doesn’t feel relaxed and happy to run, one should never try hard, body feeling like a gauge / a meter, do not put pressure on your body if you don’t feel ready.

S: How do you prepare for your marathons? Do you have a time goal?

Y: I always have a program when I plan to run a marathon, obviously when I know I am accepted and filled in a form online or however I am accepted to run. I will have to start with increasing time and distance, gradually, and not rush it, as if you hurry in doing long distance and speed, you may get injury and not be able to train for a long time, then you will miss it altogether, but that never happened to me, as I have always been careful, whenever I felt a pain in my legs, I had to slow down, or even not run until I found a solution, treatment, massage or whatever necessary. When I am about a month near to my marathon race, I will have build my distance, and be able to run nearly the distance, but in London Marathon guide says, you will have to be able to run at least 15 miles in one go then you can finish London Marathon in about 5 hours or a bit more. So, I often run 3 or 3.30 a month before my marathon race, as I often finish it between 4 hours to 4. 35 or sometimes 4: 45 that is my worse distance, I don’t like it when it takes me so long, but one has always to be careful not to do a big damage or kill yourself This is for fun runners, but the champions have a different way of preparation, they often run over 200km a week to be able to become a world champion.

S: The first marathon I guess is always the one you remember the most about. Could you share your experience?

Y: The 1st Marathon is always the one, I always remember. As for the 1st time one runs, there is a worry, if I am going to be ok, no injury, no problem? One always thinks, what am I going to say if I don’t finish it? There is always a worry, but it is always better to try to forget it, and concentrate on the running. As I knew, I have done it in my running preparation I did almost the whole distance about a month before the race, I knew I would do it. I had a friend who was training with me, he lived near the park in Greenwich, East London, so I stayed with him for the night before the race, I was quite close to the park and he took me there early morning in his car. I was not worried about how much it would take me, my main worry was if I finish it with no problem, because no one knows if you end up with an injury, as a few thousands can’t finish it because they haven’t done enough training and they are not ready. In London Marathon 35000 take part and run but over 5000 can’t manage to finish it. It is always better to stop when you cannot do it than trying hard and get a bad injury or illness, as the ones who give up, they will automatically have entry for the next London Marathon. The London Marathon do that to encourage people if they can’t do it, they must give up and not to put their life in danger of death or a serious injury. I did it, it was very nice, I got the medal of official time about 4 hours 20 minutes, I was fine after a bit rest on the grass and my family came and friends were with me, it is a nice feeling, it proves one’s fitness, builds confidence, even in the last 6 miles it is the hardest, I often thought:’ why I am putting myself through all that? ‘ As it is so painful and hard to run 42.195 km but it is a great achievement, in Uk many people wish to do it, even if it is for only once in their life. I have done it now for over 22 years, it is a great achievement in my life, even I never tried to train for a world champion, I wish I did, I just have a regret not trying to do it, but now, I am too old for that, I hope one day you do that my dear runner friend, good luck obviously we keep in touch.

Reklama

Tagged:

§ 4 Responses to Interviu – Yasin Aziz bėgimo istorija

Parašykite komentarą

What’s this?

You are currently reading Interviu – Yasin Aziz bėgimo istorija at pingvino kojos.

meta

